Postgrad life in Argentina

Hola muchachos y muchachas.

My topic today: it’s damn hard living in a foreign country right after graduation. I graduated on a Thursday and left New York on Saturday. Not only did I not have time to process the huge milestone in my life, but I’ve been spending the summer trying to get acclimated to postgrad life inside of a different country. This is a really difficult and frustrating concept. At the same time, hearing about the outcome of the Trayvon Martin trial was heartbreaking, and being overseas made me feel especially disconnected. No one knows about Trayvon here, no one is in the streets shouting about it. When I heard the verdict last night, I wanted nothing more than to be in the United States, working with an organization whose goal is justice, an organization who recognizes the inequalities that exist in America, the racism that exists, and one that works towards raising awareness and dealing with it.

So that last bit brings me to what I’ve spent my extra time doing in Buenos Aires. While I try to “aprovechar” as much as I can (visit sites, go out for a meal, travel, meet people), I’m also entirely focused on getting my life in order in the United States. This means doing research on where I would like to work, finding organizations and causes that are meaningful to me, perfecting cover letters, tailoring my resume for these positions, and sending them out. This is a really thoughtful, exhausting, EXCITING process. I know what type of organization I’d like to work at, and I’m really enjoying the search and the reaching out part of it. But while I enjoy all of this, it’s really hard doing it overseas. There are some really great positions that I’ve seen, but that are looking for employees that can start earlier than I can. There are few things less frustrating then seeing the perfect job and knowing that no matter what, you won’t be able to get it. I feel like I’m missing so many opportunities while I’m here, but at the same time, I’m gaining so much. My Spanish language skills are only advancing, and the work that I’m doing surely strengthens my resume. But, call me spoiled, I just want to be home and getting the show on the road. My boyfriend starts his first “real” job on Monday and I’m so happy for him. I only wish I was there to wish him luck in person and be there to talk with him about it at the end of the work day. New York City, I miss you so.

Anyway, I’m at this six week mark where I’m happy to be having new experiences, but where I’m sad that others are escaping me. And I know whichever position is right for me will be the one I end up with, but it really is hard to swallow the news of something great slipping through my fingertips. With less than a month left here, I shall see where the road takes me.

In other news, I did brunch today at Malvón with a good group of people (two girls from work, a roommate of one of my friends, and all of her friends). I feel like brunch isn’t exactly the Argentine thing to do, but it seems to be an up and coming concept. The place was jam-packed, and it offered lots of New York type dishes (bagels with cream cheese and lox, pastrami sandwiches, cheesecakes, etc) but with an Argentine twist. We did some walking around the neighborhood after our three hour brunch before taking the bus back to Recoleta. Here are some photos from this afternoon. If you find yourself in Buenos Aires and in Palermo Soho, I would definitely recommend this spot. It’s a bit pricey (around $100 pesos per person with tip, minus dessert). Read a more thorough review here!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Things to look forward to in the next few weeks: museum visits, planning my trip to Ecuador, buying souvenirs for mi gente (give me a shout out if I love you and you’d like something in particular), applying to more jobs and hopefully hearing back from some, and, COMING HOME! August 10th, I see you.

Chau!

One response to “Postgrad life in Argentina

  1. Your description of going abroad for the whole summer right after graduation is so spot-on. It’s great that you’ve been applying to jobs though! I get so frustrated by the search I never make the jump from “OOOHH that could be good” to “let me tailor my app material so I can apply.” Job-hunting also tends to lead to homesickness :/ I don’t go back til the end of August though, so I have a couple weeks before the listed start dates are close to when I’d actually be able/want to start.

    Also, that brunch place looks adorable!

Leave a Reply

